Transit Visa

 This visa is for: 


  • people wishing to transit through Sri Lanka who enters the country for short period of time
  • people traveling to Sri Lanka to join a vessel as crew. 


A transit visa is NOT required if:


  • you fly out on the same aircraft and from the same airport at which you arrived
  • you stay in the transit lounge and do not leave the airport.
How To Apply

Travelers can now use one of the following methods at their convenience to apply Transit Visa:

  • Online - Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) - up to 7 days
  • On arrival at Colombo Airport - up to 7 days
  • Sri Lanka Diplomatic Missions and Consulates – up to 30 days

For nationals of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Afghanistan)


Transit visa ETA Up to 2 days - FREE

Transit visa ETA 2 – 7 days - 15 USD 

Transit visa at the airport up to seven days - 15 USD 


Other countries 


ETA transit visa up to 2 days - FREE

ETA transit visa 2 – 7 days - 20 USD

ETA transit visa at the airport up to seven days - 25 USD